Friday, May 28, 2010

The Last Lick


I always knew that my last blog post would be #35 Salted Caramel Ice Cream at Bi-Rite Creamery. I just didn't think it would be this soon. But life has a funny way of happening when you least expect it. So I am sadly ending my blog now.

A very cool piece of graffiti on the sidewalk while I waited. I wonder if the Red Witches liked their ice cream...

Here I am at the end of my blog. And I am a very different person than I was when I started. Four months ago, four years ago, eight years ago. It's time for me to leave my adopted home of San Francisco. But before I go, one more review. On to the ice cream...

I admit that I have an obsession with salty and sweet. It's my most favorite flavor combination. I was the kid that would sprinkle salt on my chocolate ice cream and eat M&Ms and Doritos at the same time. And as an adult, I am a big fan of salted caramel candy so this was going to be another sure thing.

That's my scoop that's gettin' scooped.

Needless to say, the ice cream was wonderful. It better be good ice cream after waiting in line for 45 minutes. I've heard that's actually pretty good, people often wait in line for more than an hour. It was fantastic, totally worth it! Creamy and delicious and salty and sweet.

Salty and sweet, kind of like my feelings right now... A little heartbroken to leave all of my wonderful friends and a city that has made me feel safe and happy and whole. A little scared to take on a new unknown challenge. A little excited at the endless possibilities in my life...

Take care of yourselves while I am gone. Be good and eat lots of food! If you try anything left on the 7x7 list, I'd love to hear about it. In the meantime, I hope you miss me as much as I miss you!

Bye San Francisco, hello Los Angeles!

Love,
Rebecca

PS. If you find yourself missing me way too much, please check this out:

Monday, May 24, 2010

Reubenecca


Truth be told, I have NEVER EVER met a Reuben I didn't like. Ever. The ones that I would get at Denny's at 3 am, good. The super fancy ones that call the cheese Gruyere instead of Swiss, still good. Really greasy nasty ones in diners where you are afraid to use the bathroom, definitely good. This guy...

...still a good Reuben.

My point is there is no way that #74 Corned-beef Sandwich with Gruyere at the Sentinel can fool me. I know a description of a Reuben when I see one and, man oh man, this is going to be a slam dunk!!

See, I told ya!

I practically SKIPPED to the Sentinel; this is another one of those walk-up-windows-with-no- place-to-eat-inside places. But, whatever, I didn't care one bit. The Sentinel definitely has the bread to meat and fixins' ratio down perfectly. Not too much bread but still buttery and flavorful. Yummy corned-beef and perfectly melted gruyere with Russian dressing oozing.
OMG, it was so good! Delicious! I want to try the other sandwiches on their ever rotating menu!

Love,
Rebecca

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Sunday Bloody Sunday


It's always good to discover new things about yourself. Now, I know that I love cocktail sauce enough that I could drink it if I had to. Thanks to # 98 a Bloody Mary with Brunch at Foreign Cinema. I always suspected that I could do it....and now I know.

The basic Bloody Mary is prepared with vodka, tomato juice, horseradish and various spices. The one from FC also had a freakin' VEGETABLE GARDEN on top. Seriously.
A slice of lime
A slice of lemon
An entire celery stalk
A single caperberry
One pickled onion
and a huge pimento olive

Since I am a sucker for a garnish, I ate them all. Is that tacky? Well whatever.

And the bloody mary itself was so great!! There was tons of horseradish, and black pepper and curry powder. I think I just gleeked typing that.

A V8 simply will not cut it so I'll have to get my butt down to Foreign Cinema more often.

Love,
Rebecca

PS The brunch was incredible.

Saturday, May 15, 2010

White Burgundy?

I think I mentioned that I am not a beer person. Unfortunately, I am not really a wine person either. Don't get me wrong, I like it sometimes but I am definitely not educated on wine AT ALL. So when I tackled #26 a bottle of Burgundy at RN74, I thought there is NO WAY that I can drink a bottle of red wine, especially if it's a Burgundy. Red wine sometimes tastes like it's been sitting in a barrel too long, which I'm told is 'oaky'.

Well, guess what I learned? That Burgundy is actually a region in France and that there is such a thing as a white Burgundy. Thank God. Because I'm good with white wine. I won't even pretend to know what I ordered; I honestly cannot remember. But it was really delicious.

By the way, RN74 is not named for the owner's girlfriend's initials and the year of her birth. (That was something that I invented.) RN74 is the name of a road in France that winds through the Burgundy region. God, I wish I was there right now.

Love,
Rebecca

Friday, May 7, 2010

Achtung! Important Announcement!

Hey Faithful Readers, all both of you!
I will be heading out of town and back to the east coast for a little vacation. But fear not, I am leaving you with a list of cool blogs and websites that I love to visit. Pay close attention to the whole list, especially towards the bottom of the list, for a special surprise!!

One of my old co-workers writes a cute blog about her little girl and general life observations...

When I can't sleep at night, I like to redo my friends' houses in my mind...just like Janis

When I try to be outdoorsy...

Don't judge me for this one...

Because it's cool stuff that I've never even thought of...

When I need to feel hopeful and have a good cry...love this single dad!

When I think I want to move to London

Because you need to try Rebecca's Double Honey Yum Yum Fudge...

And finally

Love,
Rebecca

Menage a Trois with My Friend Paul


It's a sandwich, people!!
Gee-yawd. Anyway, back to the FOOD, pervs.

So I met my friend Paul at #100 Ike's Place for a sandwich called Menage a Trois. Here is what is on the sandwich:

Halal Chicken Breast
A menage a trois of sauces with Honey, Honey Mustard and BBQ Sauce
And a menage a trois of cheeses with Pepper Jack, Swiss and Smoked Gouda
Plus lettuce, tomatoes and mayo.

And here is what it looks like:

Now off to Dolores Park to eat in the sunshine (and get a contact buzz from all the potsmoke.) But first, we must start with a Ginger Beer!!



The sandwiches are HUGE so the two of us just split one and it was more than enough. And it was messy, messy, messy but oh-so-good. I've never put honey on a sandwich before but something about that honey drizzled all over the chicken breast was delicious. Ok, this is getting perverted again. I must end this blog now...

But before I go, I have to tell you that the sandwich was amazing!!!

Plus you get two lollies with each order. How wonderful is that?

Love,
Rebecca

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Seis de Mayo


Somehow this year, Cinco de Mayo just didn't come together for me. Lack of planning plus I caught a nasty case of the 6PM Sleepies so it was basically a bust. But I woke up bright and early the next day (not hungover one bit, I might add) and still felt the need to celebrate in honor of our neighbors to the South. So off to #31 Tacolicious in the Marina for a Tuna Tostada with my friend Krystal, the Carrie to my Samantha.

I grew up on the east coast so Mexican food meant Taco Bell or Chili's. Needless to say, I've discovered a whole new world since I've moved to the Bay Area. I still don't know what the difference is between a burrito, tostada, chalupa, or torta. No idea whatsoever. But I definitely appreciate good food, no matter what it's called.

The tuna tostada consisted of a couple of nice cuts of lean tuna with onions, avocado and a spicy sauce plopped on a crispy fried shell garnished with a slice of lime. God, I love sushi tuna. God, I love sauces. God, I love shells. This was so good, all around.

I also have to mention how delicious the chips and salsa were. The salsa had just the right amount of heat, and another interesting and unusual flavor layer. Krystal and I debated if it was mint or cilantro or just super fresh.

I should have gotten a margarita...maybe next time?

Happy Seis de Mayo!

Love,
Rebecca